top of page
BLOG: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmy Ferraro

ED In A Larger Body

I have been in a larger body most of my life. I have dealt with my eating disorder for over 30 years in a bigger body. I was only diagnosed by a doctor with an ED for 3 years. All the other years, I was told I was fat and needed to lose weight. Those comments had put me on a roller coaster of diets and disordered eating. No one ever asked about my behaviors. I was actually malnourished in a bigger body due to years of restricting but I also binged. I was finally diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and Atypical Anorexia. However, the weight stigma didn't end there. I was sent home and denied treatment 5 times because insurance said I was "not sick enough".

Today, I still struggle with the effects of my ED. I now have osteopenia due to my years of ED behaviors. I did have bariatric surgery to help with my weight but I am still in a larger body and the ED thoughts are still there once in a while. I will write about this in the future but having bariatric surgery although had some positive outcomes, it doesn't "cure" the eating disorder.

I found a therapist who really helped me with my relationship with food and my body. I am in a better place and am accepting that I can be ok in a bigger body.

Having a bigger body doesn't mean you can't Kick ED's Butt. ❤️❤️❤️❤️

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page